Truman Commission Reorganizes Executive Branch



Accession Number 92-06

Description

President Harry S. Truman (seated center) is flanked by members of a 12-man commission engaged in a study to increase the efficiency of the Executive Branch of the government. Front, L to R: George H. Mead, Dayton, Ohio; former President Herbert Hoover; President Truman; Joseph P. Kennedy; and Senator John J. McClellan (D-Arkansas). Rear, L to R: Representative Clarence J. Brown (R-O); Secretary of Defense James V. Forrestal; Arthur S. Flemming, Civil Service Commission; Secretary of State Dean Acheson; James Rowe; and Representative Carter Manasco (D-Alabama). From: Houston Post.

Date(s) September 29, 1947

6.5 x 8.5 Black & White

Keywords Cabinet officers Committees Ex-presidents Executive advisory bodies Presidents

HST Keywords Truman - Commissions - Commission to Reorganize the Executive Branch

People PicturedForrestal, James, 1892-1949Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972Acheson, Dean, 1893-1971Brown, Clarence James, 1895-1965Flemming, Arthur S. (Arthur Sherwood), 1905-1996Hoover, Herbert,1874-1964Kennedy, Joseph P. (Joseph Patrick), 1888-1969McClellan, John L. (John Little), 1896-1977Mead, George Houk, 1877-1963Rowe, James H. (James Henry), 1909-1984

Rights Copyrighted - This item is copyrighted and cannot be published, reproduced, or otherwise used without the explicit permission of the copyright holder.

Note: If you use this image, rights assessment and attribution are your responsibility.

Credit: Associated Press Harry S. Truman Library & Museum.

Attention media: Please make note of this item's accession number. Print out this page and retain it for your permissions records before downloading this image file for possible publication. Library staff cannot sign permissions forms or provide additional paperwork. The Library charges no usage fees for downloaded images.