## National Capital Sesquicentennial Postage Stamp Ceremonies



## **Description**

Members and representatives of the National Capital Sesquicentennial Commission are shown the commemorative postage stamps for the event. From left to right: Joseph C. McGarraghy, Chairman of the Executive Committee; Assistant to the President John R. Steelman; Postmaster General Jesse Donaldson; Carter Barron, Executive Vice-Chairman; and John Russell Young, President of the Board of Commissioners of the District of Columbia.

## Date(s)

ca. 1950

**Accession Number 2014-3744** 

8x10 inches (21x26 cm) Black & White

Related Collection Steelman, John R. Papers

**Keywords** Cabinet officers Executive advisory bodies Postage stamps Presidential advisors Commemorative postage stamps

**People Pictured** Steelman, John Roy, 1900-1999 Barron, Carter T., 1905-1950 Donaldson, Jesse M. (Jesse Monroe), 1885-1970 McGarraghy, Joseph C. (Joseph Charles), 1897-1975 Young, John Russell, 1882-1967

Rights Public Domain - This item is in the public domain and can be used freely without further permission.

Note: If you use this image, rights assessment and attribution are your responsibility.

Credit: Frank Alexander Post Office Department Harry S. Truman Library & Museum.

Attention media: Please make note of this item's accession number. Print out this page and retain it for your permissions records before downloading this image file for possible publication. Library staff cannot sign permissions forms or provide additional paperwork. The Library charges no usage fees for downloaded images.