John R. Steelman at a National Security Resources Board Meeting



Accession Number 2014-3704

Description

The National Security Resources Board is meeting in the Conference Room of the White House. Seated left to right: Secretary of Commerce Charles Sawyer; Secretary of the Interior Oscar Chapman; Secretary of State Dean Acheson; National Security Resources Board Chairman Stuart Symington; Secretary of the Treasury John Snyder; Deputy Secretary of Defense Stephen Early; Secretary of Labor Maurice Tobin; Presidential Advisor Averell Harriman. Standing left to right: Under Secretary of Agriculture Clarence McCormick; Director of the Bureau of the Budget Frederick Lawton; Assistant to the President John R. Steelman; Chairman of the Munitions Board Hubert E. Howard; and an unidentified man.

Date(s)

August 11, 1950

7 x 9 inches Black & White

Related Collection Steelman, John R. Papers

Keywords Cabinet officers Executive advisory bodies Korean War, 1950-1953 Presidential advisors

People Pictured Snyder, John W. (John Wesley), 1895-1985 Steelman, John Roy, 1900-1999 Symington, Stuart, 1901-1988 Acheson, Dean, 1893-1971 Chapman, Oscar L. (Oscar Littleton), 1896-1978 Early, Stephen T. (Stephen Tyree), 1889-1951 Harriman, W. Averell (William Averell), 1891-1986 Howard, Hubert E. (Hubert Elmer), 1889-1976 Lawton, Frederick J. (Frederick Joseph), 1900-1975 McCormick, Clarence J. (Clarence James), 1902-1983 Sawyer, Charles, 1887-1979 Tobin, Maurice J., 1901-1953

Rights The Library is unaware of any copyright claims to this item; use at your own risk.

Note: If you use this image, rights assessment and attribution are your responsibility.

Harry S. Truman Library & Museum.

Attention media: Please make note of this item's accession number. Print out this page and retain it for your permissions records before downloading this image file for possible publication. Library staff cannot sign permissions forms or provide additional paperwork. The Library charges no usage fees for downloaded images.