

## **Accession Number** 73-3017

8x10 inches (21x26 cm) Black & White

ones mentes (entre entre entre

**Keywords** Cabinet officers Legislation Legislators Presidents

**HST Keywords** Truman - Cabinet - Truman with Members; Truman - Dignitaries - Representatives; Truman - Dignitaries - Senators; Truman - Signing - Documents - Colorado River Basin Compact

**People Pictured** Krug, Julius A. (Julius Albert), 1907-1970 Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972 Anderson, Clinton Presba, 1895-1975 Chavez, Dennis, 1888-1962 Hunt, Lester C. (Lester Calloway), 1892-1954

**Rights** Public Domain - This item is in the public domain and can be used freely without further permission.

Note: If you use this image, rights assessment and attribution are your responsibility.

**Credit:** Abbie Rowe National Park Service Harry S. Truman Library & Museum.

Attention media: Please make note of this item's accession number. Print out this page and retain it for your permissions records before downloading this image file for possible publication. Library staff cannot sign permissions forms or provide additional paperwork. The Library charges no usage fees for downloaded images.

## Description

President Harry S. Truman at his desk in the Oval Office, signs S. 790, an act granting the consent of the United States to the Upper Colorado River Basin Compact, as members of the Congressional delegations of Wyoming, Utah, Colorado, New Mexico, and Arizona look on. The four men directly behind Truman's chair are Secretary of the Interior Julius Krug (fourth from left in striped tie), Senator Lester Hunt, Senator and former Secretary of Agriculture Clinton Anderson, and Senator Dennis Chavez (holding cigar). All others are unidentified.

Date(s)

April 6, 1949