George C. Marshall taking the oath of office



Accession Number 73-2365

Description

George C. Marshall (foreground, left) being sworn in as Secretary of State in the Oval Office by Chief Justice Fred Vinson (foreground, right) as President Harry S. Truman (standing behind desk) and dignitaries look on. Along the wall, from left to right are: Attorney General Tom Clark; Secretary of War Robert Patterson (partly obscured); Secretary of Agriculture Clinton Anderson; Secretary of the Interior Julius Krug; two unidentified men; outgoing Secretary of State James Byrnes (partly obscured); unidentified man; Secretary of Labor Lewis Schwellenbach.

Date(s)

January 21, 1947

8x10 inches (21x26 cm) Black & White

Keywords Cabinet officers Judges Oaths Offices Presidents

HST Keywords Truman - Cabinet - Members - Oath of Office

People Pictured Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972 Marshall, George C. (George Catlett), 1880-1959 Vinson, Fred M., 1890-1953 Anderson, Clinton Presba, 1895-1975 Byrnes, James F. (James Francis), 1882-1972 Clark, Tom C. (Tom Campbell), 1899-1977 Krug, Julius A. (Julius Albert), 1907-1970 Patterson, Robert Porter, 1891-1952 Schwellenbach, Lewis B. (Lewis Baxter), 1894-1948

Rights Public Domain - This item is in the public domain and can be used freely without further permission.

Note: If you use this image, rights assessment and attribution are your responsibility.

Credit: Abbie Rowe National Park Service Harry S. Truman Library & Museum.

Attention media: Please make note of this item's accession number. Print out this page and retain it for your permissions records before downloading this image file for possible publication. Library staff cannot sign permissions forms or provide additional paperwork. The Library charges no usage fees for downloaded images.