Truman at Marshall's swearing-in as Secretary of State



Accession Number 73-2362

8x10 inches (21x26 cm) Black & White

Keywords Cabinet officers Offices Presidents

HST Keywords Truman - Cabinet - Members - Oath of Office

People PicturedTruman, Harry S., 1884-1972Anderson, Clinton Presba, 1895-1975Byrnes, James F.(James Francis), 1882-1972Clark, Tom C. (Tom Campbell), 1899-1977Krug, Julius A. (Julius Albert), 1907-1970Patterson, Robert Porter, 1891-1952Schwellenbach, Lewis B. (Lewis Baxter), 1894-1948

Rights Public Domain - This item is in the public domain and can be used freely without further permission.

Note: If you use this image, rights assessment and attribution are your responsibility.

Credit: Abbie Rowe National Park Service Harry S. Truman Library & Museum.

Attention media: Please make note of this item's accession number. Print out this page and retain it for your permissions records before downloading this image file for possible publication. Library staff cannot sign permissions forms or provide additional paperwork. The Library charges no usage fees for downloaded images.

Description

President Harry S. Truman stands at his desk in the Oval Office with members of his Cabinet as George C. Marshall is sworn in as the new Secretary of State. Standing behind Truman are, from left to right: Attorney General Tom Clark, Secretary of War Robert Patterson, Secretary of Agriculture Clinton Anderson, Secretary of the Interior Julius Krug, outgoing Secretary of State James Byrnes, and Secretary of Labor Lewis Schwellenbach.

Date(s)

January 21, 1947