Board meeting of the Harry S. Truman Library Institute for National and International Affairs



Accession Number 60-362-02

Description

Board meeting of the Harry S. Truman Library Institute. Seated (left to right) are: Tom L. Evans, chairman of the board, KCMO; David D. Lloyd, executive director, Harry S. Truman Library, Inc.; Franklin D. Murphy, chancellor, University of Kansas; former President Harry S. Truman; Elmer Ellis, president, University of Missouri; and Philip C. Brooks, director, Harry S. Truman Library. Standing (left to right) are: Rufus Burrus, attorney; James L. Sellers, professor of history, Harvard University; Robert Branyan, University of Kansas City; Francis H. Heller, associate dean, University of Kansas; Samuel P. Hays, professor of history, University of Iowa; Cyrus S. Eaton, chairman of the board, Chesapeake and Ohio Railway; Rufus Hall, University of Oklahoma; Lyman H. Butterfield, editor in chief, The Adams Papers; John Bowditch, University of Minnesota; Andrew Eaton, director of libraries, Washington University; W.D. Aeschbacher, secretary-treasurer, Mississippi Valley Historical Association; Julian P. Boyd, The Papers of Thomas Jefferson; W. Averell Harriman, former Governor of New York; Boyd Shafer, executive secretary, American Historical Association; James V. Jones, director of libraries, St. Louis University, Earl J. McGrath, executive officer, Teachers College, Columbia University; Thomas G. Blaisdell, Jr., University of California; Wayne C. Grover, Archivist of the United States; and Merle Curti, professor of history, University of Wisconsin. Date(s)

March 26, 1960

4x5 inches (10x13 cm) Black & White

Keywords Educators Ex-presidents Friends and associates Presidential libraries Historians

HST Keywords Truman Library Institute Board Meeting; Truman - Library - Special Events - HST

People Pictured Aeschbacher, W. D. (William Driver), 1919-1998 Blaisdell, Thomas C. (Thomas Charles), 1895-1988 Brooks, Philip Coolidge, 1906-1977 Burrus, Rufus B., 1900-1990 Butterfield, Lyman Henry, 1909-1982 Curti, Merle (Merle Eugene), 1897-1996 Eaton, Andrew Jackson, 1914- Eaton, Cyrus Stephen, 1883-1979 Ellis, Elmer, 1901-1989 Evans, Tom L. (Thomas Lynn), 1896-1970 Grover, Wayne Clayton, 1906-1970

Harriman, W. Averell (William Averell), 1891-1986 Heller, Francis Howard, 1917-2013 Jones, James V. (James Victor), 1924-1982 Lloyd, David D. (David Demarest), 1911-1962 McGrath, Earl James, 1902-1993 Shafer, Boyd C., 1907-1992 Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972 Boyd, Julian Parks, 1903-1980

Rights Public Domain - This item is in the public domain and can be used freely without further permission.

Note: If you use this image, rights assessment and attribution are your responsibility.

Credit: Cecil H. Schrepfer Harry S. Truman Library Harry S. Truman Library & Museum.

Attention media: Please make note of this item's accession number. Print out this page and retain it for your permissions records before downloading this image file for possible publication. Library staff cannot sign permissions forms or provide additional paperwork. The Library charges no usage fees for downloaded images.