President Truman with the Federal Loyalty Board



Accession Number 59-1393

Description

President Harry S. Truman with new members of the Federal Loyalty Board. Pictured with President Truman (front row, seventh from the right) are Meta Glass (front row, eighth from the right); former Secretary of Labor Francis Perkins (front row, sixth from the right); Chairman Seth W. Richardson (front row, fifth from the right); Harry B. Mitchell (fourth from left); Charles Sawyer (second from left); and Attorney General Tom C. Clark (right). Others in the group include Dean Harry A. Bigelow; Dr. Aaron J. Brumbaugh; John Kirkland Clark; Tom J. Davis; Dr. Burton L. French; Earl Harrison; Garrett Hoag; Wilbur LeRoe Jr.; Dr. Arthur Macmahon; Dr. Charles E. Merriman; Henry Parkman Jr.; Judge Albert M. Sames; Henry L. Shattuck; and Lawrence V. Melroy. Same as 59-1420.

Date(s) November 14, 1947

8.25x6.5 inches Black & White

Keywords Administrative agencies Cabinet officers Loyalty investigations Presidents

HST Keywords Truman - Conferences - Boards with - Loyalty Review Board

 People Pictured
 Alger, George William, 1872-1967

 John, 1890-1983
 Clark, John Kirkland, 1877-1963

 1880-1967
 MacMahon, Arthur Whittier, 1890-1980

 1965
 Richardson, Seth (Seth Whitley), 1880-1953

 1971
 Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972

Bigelow, Harry Augustus, 1874-1950 Brumbaugh, Aaron Clark, Tom C. (Tom Campbell), 1899-1977 Glass, Meta, Parkman, Henry, Jr., 1894-1958 Perkins, Frances, 1882-Sawyer, Charles, 1887-1979 Shattuck, Henry Lee, 1879-

Rights Copyrighted - This item is copyrighted and cannot be published, reproduced, or otherwise used without the explicit permission of the copyright holder.

Note: If you use this image, rights assessment and attribution are your responsibility.

Credit: International News Photos Harry S. Truman Library & Museum.

Attention media: Please make note of this item's accession number. Print out this page and retain it for your permissions records before downloading this image file for possible publication. Library staff cannot sign permissions forms or provide additional paperwork. The Library charges no usage fees for downloaded images.