Truman with the Library Institute Board



Accession Number 95-65

Description

The First annual meeting of the Harry S. Truman Library Institute with the following seated around the table, starting on the left: Andrew J. Eaton, Librarian, Washington University of St. Louis, Missouri; Dr. Earl J. McGrath, Columbia University, New York; Professor James L. Sellers, University of Nebraska, Lincoln; Professor Henry S. Commager, Amherst College, Amherst, Massachusetts; Dr. Franklin D. Murphy, President, University of Kansas, Lawrence; Dr. Boyd Shafer, Executive Secretary, American History Association, Washington, D. C.; Dr. Wayne C. Grover, Archivist of the United States, Washington, D. C.; Tom L. Evans, Chairman of the Board, Kansas City, MO; David D. Lloyd, Executive Director, Harry S. Truman Library, Inc., Washington, D. C.; former President Harry S. Truman; Dr. Elmer Ellis, President, University of Missouri, Columbia; Dr. Philip C. Brooks, Director, Harry S. Truman Library; Dr. Lyman H. Butterfield, Editor, The Adams Papers, Boston, Massachusetts; Dr. G. L. Gross, President, University of Oklahoma, Norman; Dr. Pete Kyle McCarter, Executive Vice-President, University of Oklahoma, Norman; Dr. Richard M. Drake, Chancellor, University of Kansas City; Dr. W. D. Aeschbacher, Secretary, Missouri Valley Historical Association, Lincoln, Nebraska; James V. Jones, Librarian, St. Louis University; Professor Samuel P. Hays, University of Iowa, Iowa City; Rufus Burrus, Attorney, Independence, Missouri.

Date(s)

April 2, 1958

8x10 inches (21x26 cm) Black & White

Related Collection Harry S. Truman Papers Post-Presidential Papers

Keywords Ex-presidents Presidential libraries

HST Keywords Truman - Library - HSTL Institute - HST

People Pictured Aeschbacher, W. D. (William Driver), 1919-1998 Brooks, Philip Coolidge, 1906-1977 Burrus, Rufus B., 1900-1990 Butterfield, Lyman Henry, 1909-1982 Commager, Henry Steele, 1902-1998 Eaton. Andrew Jackson, 1914-Ellis, Elmer, 1901-1989 Evans, Tom L. (Thomas Lynn), 1896-1970 Grover, Wayne Clayton, 1906-1970 Jones, James V. (James Victor), 1924-1982 Lloyd, David D. (David Demarest), 1911-1962 McGrath, Earl James, 1902-1993 Shafer, Boyd C., 1907-1992 Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972

Rights The Library is unaware of any copyright claims to this item; use at your own risk.

Note: If you use this image, rights assessment and attribution are your responsibility.

Harry S. Truman Library & Museum.

Attention media: Please make note of this item's accession number. Print out this page and retain it for your permissions records before downloading this image file for possible publication. Library staff cannot sign permissions forms or provide additional paperwork. The Library charges no usage fees for downloaded images.